Having a Hard Time Being Thankful?

27 Nov

In this world it is so easy to look around, and see what everyone else has. This leads to jealousy and envy, and it leads away from thankfulness. This happens to me sometimes, and then there are other times when I look around, and I see what other people are going through. They are having a rough time, and I realize how truly thankful I am for my life.
For instance, a family in our church is going through a very trying time. The father, who was a faithful Sunday school teacher, is dying of cancer. He is only in his 50’s with four kids ranging from 19-30. My heart has broken for them as they go through this process, not because I know them so well, but because I know how I would feel.
The day his daughter called to ask my husband to do the funeral if Pastor was out of town, I had the opportunity to take my dad to pick up his car. A small thing, but I realized how much those kids would have given to take a drive and talk to their dad under such normal circumstances.
So this Thanksgiving season I am more thankful than usual. I realize there will always be some that have it better than me, and some that have it worse than me. I choose to be grateful! Thank you, God for my life! May I always be thankful.

Leave a Reply

