The Widow’s Mite

21 Jan

Do you remember the story of the widow and the rich man’s offering? He had given a ton of money and she gave two mites (similar to two pennies) . We would have been impressed with his offering, but God wasn’t. He was impressed with hers because she gave all she had! I have always thought of this story in terms of giving offerings to God, but yesterday it came to my mind about helping others. Someone once told me if I had the money I would be helping others, and there are times I think that I could do something to help someone if i had more money. The truth is God wants us to help others, no matter what. Like that widow, he doesn’t expect us to give above what we have. Just help with what he’s given us.
Make a dinner for someone that is sick, bake some cookies for someone who is depressed or hurting, offer to babysit for a young mother. Just do something for someone, and newsflash it will make you feel better. While growing up that was mom’s answer for everything if I was depressed. She’d tell me to go do something for someone else, and then I would forget about my problems. Guess what? It works!!
This past week was the birthday of three of my favorite bus riders. I realized they didn’t get much of a celebration so I brought them a cake and a few of their favorite treats. It cost about $10. Less than what we would spend at McDonald’s, but even that small amount can be a blessing to someone. So take the time, find a need that fits your budget, and have fun filling that need. The result? A better day for you and the recipient.

Leave a Reply

